Lecture 2: The six schools of Nara Buddhism

The Six Schools of Nara were mostly academic Buddhist sects, under Japanese state control, and centered in the capital Nara. These schools were devoted to mastering Buddhist philosophy from mainland Asia, and to maintaining court patronage. This period is called Nara Buddhism marked by the lavish state spending on Buddhist temples, images, texts and academic studies, thus largely confined to the nobility and imperial family.