Lecture 7: Nichiren Buddhism

The schools of Nichiren Buddhism is attributed to the monk Nichiren. Doctrinally the schools focus on the Lotus Sutra as the main texts. Nichiren Buddhism split into several sects after the death of Nichiren, typically represented by tradition-oriented schools such as Nichiren Shu and Nichiren Shoshu and the "new religions" such as Soka Gakkai, Rissho Kosei Kai, and Reiyukai.